With the help and support of others in the community, Dean Mathey established, built and developed Pretty Brook Tennis Club. He provided the land on which the club now sits, engaged Arthur C. Holden and Robert W. McLaughlin as architects and contracted with Matthews Construction Company to undertake construction. He then encouraged his friends to purchase shares and become members.
An ardent tennis player and competitor, Mathey and his Princeton University classmate, Burnham N. Dell, were intercollegiate doubles champions in 1912. Mathey’s enthusiasm for the game of tennis inspired him to create a legacy in the form of this club. He aspired to share this experience with his peers and many generations to follow. Since its inception in 1929, Pretty Brook has attracted hundreds of racquet sport enthusiasts and continues to do so today.